Recovery plus one

This time last year, I was typing a blog post, just as I am now. The difference then was that I was doing it with one broken arm, wincing with pain upon every touch of the keyboard. I’d broken both arms, cracked a rib and severely damaged my pride and psyche after a nasty bike crash.

Recovery plus one

Last year and today ... what a difference a year makes.


I started today, 12 months on, in exactly the same way, and so did Mother Nature, producing a similarly wet, windy and very cold morning. But regardless, I geared up for the bike ride to work, just as I did last year, and set off on my journey.

I’ve been thinking a lot about today, and all that’s happened between now and then. As I passed the point where I came off last year this morning, I slowed down significantly, and thought even harder about what happened at that moment a year ago – the first dot on a life path that has since been truly extraordinary.

I can honestly say that what happened on this day in 2010 completely changed my life. It made me think hard about my future, and what I wanted to do with it. It made me more philosophical, more open, more honest, more humble, more appreciative of everyone around me, more … normal. Sounds weird, but anyway. It taught me the power of positive thinking, and while it didn’t happen on day one – far from it – I’m a long way from the person I was then today, and all for the better.

It took me several months to get going again. I’d already lurched into a bit of a downslide before the accident, but the crash was the nail in the coffin that sent me all the way to the bottom of a dark hole. After a few weeks in my sling, I figured if I can climb out of this with broken limbs, I can do anything. And right now, I feel happier than I’ve ever felt in my entire life. I feel I know myself better, and any demons that made themselves at home on my shoulders over the years have now been brushed away, and are nursing broken limbs of their own as I stride more confidently away from them each day.

I won’t harp on about everything that’s happened to me between now and last year, but I do want to acknowledge all the amazing people that have been a part of my life over the past 12 months and before. If you’re reading this, the chances are you’re one of them. You all helped me, knowingly or otherwise. You’ve all made me want to be a better person every day since this time last year. I’ve still got a long way to go to be the person I want to be, but I’m getting there, and not a day goes by when I don’t think about you and the impact you’ve all had on my life. I’ll never forget you, no matter what distance, if any, is put between us. I’ll always strive to somehow repay your kindness and generosity, and I will continue to put my hand up first whenever you need me for anything. It’s the very least I can do, because I owe you all.

So, happy first anniversary. I love you all very much.

Leave a Reply

