Looky who’s back … it’s Lykke Li

Lykke Li - I Never Learn

Lykke Li … a break-up has inspired her new songs.

Lykke Li has been quiet for the past three years, but this week emerged from the silence with a haunting tease for her new album I Never Learn.

The record is slated for a 5 May release worldwide, and from what little she gives away here, it has all the hallmarks of previous albums Wounded Rhymes and the outstanding debut Youth Novels. In fact, she told NME, it’s the final chapter in a trilogy of records that have explored being a woman in her 20s.

A break-up has inspired the third record, so who knows how deeply she has explored her emotional turmoil. We’ll just have to wait and see. But ultimately, Lykke wants us to think of her not as a pretty pop songstress in the mould of Kylie Minogue or Katy Perry, but rather a serious singer-songwriter. Why that wouldn’t be the case for some is beyond me, but I guess that’s the superficial nature of the world we live in.

“I always feel like I’ve been slightly misunderstood. As a woman you get judged for appearances or things like that I don’t really care about,” she said in the NME chit-chat. If anything I want to be seen as a singer-songwriter rather than a pop artist. I really feel like I’ve found my voice.”

One thought on “Looky who’s back … it’s Lykke Li

Leave a Reply

